Guest Post – Daryl Gerard Morrissey “Birth of a Classic”

This is a blog that I was privileged to be asked to write.

startrekblog

A few weeks ago, I asked one of my regular followers and friend Daryl if he would like to write a guest blog post for me. I didn’t give him any direction at all, just dropped him in at the deep end, the following is what he produced:

THE BIRTH OF A ‘CLASSIC’ EPISODE

When I was approached to write this ‘guest blog’, I had no idea about what to write. Should I write about the TV series’, the films, my favourite episode / character or any other combination?. In the end, I decided on this… I hope you enjoy the following.

THE IDEA

In the 30th Anniversary year of Star Trek (1996), Rick Berman suggested, to Ira Steven Behr, the idea of doing a special episode of Star Trek Deep Space Nine to pay homage to the original series. Star Trek Voyager had made ‘Flashback’, which involved some of the USS Voyager crew meeting…

View original post 1,206 more words

2 responses to “Guest Post – Daryl Gerard Morrissey “Birth of a Classic”

  1. Thanks for doing this piece for me, and what a piece. As you know, DS9 was to me, by far the best Trek series and this episode is in my top 5 episodes. A welcome distraction from the 24th century with a little comic relief, much the same as “Little Green Men”

    Like

  2. Thank you for allowing me to contribute to your site. It was a tough decision as to what to write about and how to write the post and the images that you added to the piece really made a difference. This episode is also one of my favourites.

    Like

All comments are welcome

