The Battle Wagon’s Last Hurrah ends in a discovery!

Sunday, 23rd April.

Our Battle Wagon has done us proud for a long time, but it is now time to retire her and send her to the great buggy paradise in the sky. But, before this could happen, we had to take her on one last trip.

After lunch, we took a stroll into Watford, to get a few items for home. We then headed to Pets at Home, to show Erin and Keilyn the rabbits, guinea pigs, hamsters, rats, fish, snakes, etc., before deciding to make our way home. Erin was bored with being cooped up in the Battle Wagon and was demanding to be released, so that she could walk home. This was a great idea as the weight of the two girls, plus the shopping, really put a strain on the Battle Wagon, which we had abused for so long. So, we headed towards Oxhey Park and the River Colne, where it was safer for Erin to run around. With Erin running alongside the river, we followed the path to Wiggenhall Road, where we crossed onto the Riverside Recreation Ground, still following the river, until we reached Riverside Park.

Erin proceeded to enter the park and have a ride on the swings, clambered over the climbing frames and down the slides. She did this many times, before we decided it was time to head off.

Leaving the park, we joined the Ebury Way Cycle Path, heading in the direction of home. The last time that I had been on this particular piece of the Ebury Way, it had been a torrent of water due to the River Colne bursting its banks, having been swollen by the flood waters. Luckily, the ground had dried considerably, allowing the Battle Wagon to make its way unhindered, except for the odd mud puddle. With Emma pushing the Battle Wagon, Erin and I decided to head off into the undergrowth, beside the old railway line, to see how the renovation of the  line was progressing. It is due to be reopened in 2017 , as part of the Croxley Rail Link. It appears to be progressing well, with a most of the line cleared and the trees and shrubs, which had spread like wildfire, being cut right back. Getting as far as we could, we turned round and headed back to Emma and Keilyn.

A rotted piece of the old Rickmansworth to Watford railway line.

A piece of the old Rickmansworth to Watford railway line.

With the Lairage Land Nature Reserve to our right and allotments to our left, we continued on our merry way until I spotted one an old ceramic insulator ‘pot’ in the undergrowth. These insulator ‘pots’ usually hold up the third rail and, when railway lines are ripped up, are normally just left smashed by the side of the line. The Ebury Way is built on an old railway line that used to run from Rickmansworth to Watford, but fell into disuse many years ago. Eventually the cycle route was put through and it is now a busy thoroughfare. Sometimes, as now, you can find a complete one, but they are rare. So I grabbed a photo. No sooner had I done this than I noticed another insulator ‘pot’, which was made of glass. Having never seen one before, I took a photo, before picking it up to study. Sure enough it was an insulator ‘pot’ and it was made of glass. So, carefully, I placed it under the Battle Wagon, much to its consternation, before we continued on our way.

A rare Glass Insulator Pot, in the undergrowth of the Ebury Way.

A Glass Insulator Pot, in the undergrowth of the Ebury Way.

We then began to notice that the Lairage Land Nature Reserve was still slightly flooded, but not as much as the area around the Electricity Transmission Station and the surrounding fields, which make up the River Colne floodplain, to our left. As we crossed the river we could see swans, swimming in the middle of the cricket pitch, while the old ‘Pill Box’ looked to be on an island, all of its own.

With us being minutes from home and Erin’s legs starting to flag, I decided to put her on my shoulders. Putting her in the Battle Wagon didn’t seem right, plus, although we were now on tarmac, the extra weight makes it creak and protest. Typically, on arriving home, Keilyn had decided to fall asleep, so we left her wrapped up in the Battle Wagon, while we decanted the shopping and my ‘new’ garden ornament, namely the glass insulator ‘pot’, and proceeded inside for a well deserved coffee.

I then spent a good half hour Googling Glass Insulator Pots, finding only one image that resembled the one that now sat in my garden. A little more research led me to discover that they were an ‘experimental’ insulator pot, manufactured for a short time in 1934. Not many were produced, adding to their rarity, and they were predominantly used in the south of England.

An image of my cleaned up, 80 year-old Glass Insulator Pot.

An image of my cleaned up, 80 year-old Glass Insulator Pot.

18 responses to “The Battle Wagon’s Last Hurrah ends in a discovery!

  1. You’re so lucky with finds on your walks – like those deer you took photos of. Must keep my eyes on the ground and not on the clouds in future! Wonder what you/we will discover on the trip to London …

    Like

  2. With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My website has a lot of completely unique content I’ve
    either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of
    it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement.
    Do you know any methods to help reduce content from being
    ripped off? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    Like

  3. Wonderful website you have here but I was wanting to
    know if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article?
    I’d really like to be a part of online community where I
    can get opinions from other knowledgeable people that share the same
    interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Many thanks!

    Like

  4. I just like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check once more right here frequently.
    I’m fairly certain I’ll be told many new stuff proper here!
    Good luck for the following!

    Like

  5. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to
    be just what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for you personally?
    I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a number of
    the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome site!

    Like

  6. I don’t even understand how I finished up right here, but I
    assumed this post was good. I don’t know who you
    might be however definitely you’re going to a famous blogger for those who are not already.
    Cheers!

    Like

  7. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add
    to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would
    have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.

    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your
    new updates.

    Like

  8. Superb website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same
    topics discussed in this article? I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get feed-back from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks!

    Like

  9. The music library of Shazam is expanding fast like
    by no means prior to. Consequently you can either (a) get rid of current information or (b) buy much more memory–or each of
    the over. The messenger is quick and functions like a appeal!

    Like

  10. Most of these applications are free with the exception of two…

    maybe 3. Communication more than Smartphone is evolving; it is no lengthier about texting only.
    Amazon provides an Amazon Mp3 application for Android customers.

    Like

  11. Having read this I believed it was extremely enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this content together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

    Like

All comments are welcome

